Anyone went from manual to auto canyon/colrado - Chevy Colorado & GMC Canyon

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-06-2017, 07:40 PM Thread Starter

Anyone went from manual to auto canyon/colrado

Hi everyone,

I'm close to buying/trading a 2017 canyon SLE All Terrain Ext cab and I test drove a 2017 colorado (crew cab) today as they don't have canyon on a the lot right now but I mostly wanted to get a feel of the engine,transmission and driveability so it's pretty much the same.

I really like how it rides, very smooth and quiet, today was cold and windy (Canadian here, talking -20, -25 Celcius) and you could barely hear it.

One thing I noticed and seems it's the like that with all the automatic truck I test drove so far, I've been driving manual transmissions for nearly 15 years. Last 6 years I've been on 2 frontier, the one I currently own is a Pro 4x 2016. I can feel the colorado has plenty of power, but my frontier feels so much more peppier in manual configuration (4.10 Gear and 1st gear = super prime), I test drove the Pro 4x automatic and noticed the same. It's definitely smoother although I'm a pretty damn smooth shifter, but you can't be as consistent as with an automatic :p

Maybe I'm used to the manual after all these years, anyone made the switch from a manual truck/car to one of the twins ?

Did you get used to it and feel like the truck is clearly quite peppy ? Gas Pedal is not as responsive as my frontier but nothing that worries me, you get used to it.

Also, anyone feel like the console arm rest sits very high ? Again, i'm used to a lower arm rest