Transfer case leaves in "Auto" mode - Chevy Colorado & GMC Canyon
 16Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 01-05-2017, 07:21 PM Thread Starter

Transfer case leaves in "Auto" mode

Hi,

Living in the north I left my transfer case in auto mode for the last couple months (since I bought it). I am curious if it'll hurt anything because the manual said the front axle is engage, just no power to it unless it's needed. The thing is up here the main streets and the highway are fairly clean and dry. Mostly just the side streets and roads less traveled are icier. I'm new to 4WD system (Subarus for last few cars) and don't want to damage any components.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old 01-05-2017, 08:02 PM

Garage
No it won't hurt anything. It might cost you a little bit in fuel mileage, though.

.boB
2016 Colorado: long bed, Z71, Mini-Duramax
www.RacingTheExocet.com
post #3 of 23 (permalink) Old 01-05-2017, 08:28 PM

Garage
I have had mine in Auto for 2 months now, i will just leave it there till spring thaw. Can't hurt anything.
My fuel economy had dropped, but this is due to many factors from winter blend fuel, winter tires, elevated idle running, and been freezing here for over a month. But i am still getting 26 mpg ( 9L/ 100kms per tank down from 30mpg ( 7.8L/100kms)in the summer. Fantastic for winter. My buddies V6 Coloroado has dropped to 17 mpg (13.8L/100kms) from his usual summer MPG of 22.
k7tnt likes this.

2016 Canyon CCLB 2.8L Duramax. SLT Nav/bose, driver alert,rear slider.

post #4 of 23 (permalink) Old 01-05-2017, 09:30 PM

There is no rgood reason to have it in anything by 2WD on dry roads, IMO.

Sent from my SM-G903W using Tapatalk
Janster and mrpositraction like this.

2008 GMC Canyon, 3.7 I5, Off Road 4x4, Inferno Orange.
post #5 of 23 (permalink) Old 01-05-2017, 10:15 PM

Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by rkj__ View Post