Most common issues - 16/17 diesels - Chevy Colorado & GMC Canyon
 25Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 61 (permalink) Old 04-16-2017, 07:58 PM Thread Starter

Question Most common issues - 16/17 diesels

I'm a non-Chevy owner seriously considering buying a diesel Colorado. Would someone please give me a quick summary of the common issues people are seeing with these so far, and how prevalent the issues are? I'm mostly interested in the diesel 4x4. My goal is just to get my expectations in check before I go drop the cash on one.

Every model has some known weaknesses, I've been driving the same Tacoma for 19 years so I'm very familiar with the common Toyota issues, but I'm completely out of the loop on the Chevy diesels and would greatly appreciate any info. Especially any issues that might require dealer help to fix (dealers give me the willies). ;)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 61 (permalink) Old 04-16-2017, 08:05 PM

While I dont have the diesel, just asking before someone else does....are you talking about the 2017 or getting an older one.

I know the 2015-16 gassers changed to a diff engine/trans, but not sure if the 2017 diesel trans changed from 16 to17.

Overall, I have not seen many complaints other that little minor ones so far.
The My Link seems to be the one I see most often here....and since I changed out my entire stereo system to me it is a non-issue.

GM seems to have been fixing the major issues once they become prevalent......key words 'so far"

2005 5 cyl, Black on Black, 4 door
2016 Z71, Black, Long Box, 4 door
post #3 of 61 (permalink) Old 04-16-2017, 08:14 PM Thread Starter

Thanks for the reply. I'm interested in the current model diesel, I believe that would be both the 2016 and 2017. I would most likely buy a 2017, but knowing the issues with the 2016 would be very helpful when shopping the 2017's. :)

post #4 of 61 (permalink) Old 04-16-2017, 08:21 PM

Garage