• 1 Post By Janster
  • 1 Post By macr88
  • 5 Post By spoonman
  • 1 Post By low-tec
  • 1 Post By Dmax16

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-10-2016, 08:54 AM Thread Starter

Diff locker in two wheel mode - abrupt engagement

I was curious what the truck was capable of in two wheel drive the other day and noticed that the diff locker kicks in. I think it's awesome that they made this available in two wheel drive but it seems to kick in a bit abruptly. I'm new to diff lockers so maybe that's how they are?

I just thought it would be nice if there was a way to engage it manually.

Has anyone found a workaround?

Last edited by macr88; 12-11-2016 at 01:44 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-10-2016, 09:03 AM

This is a completely mechanical locker. It functions based on the mechanics inside the diff/wheel speed, etc.

The only 'work around' for any type of manually operation - would be to completely remove it and go with an ARB or other 'selectable' locker.
An ARB is the best 'locker' out there. I've had 2 of them in an old jeep.

What are you doing that you want/need manual locker engagement?

Not all lockers are created equal in function, capability, driving characteristics.
macr88 likes this.

www.lieblweb.com
2016 GMC Canyon
2015 Infinity QX70s
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-10-2016, 10:40 AM Thread Starter

Ah ok so this is normal operation for this type of locker.

I'm not doing anything crazy with the truck, just thought it would be nice to manually lock vs having it lock in an abrupt fashion is all.

From what I read I thought the locker only engaged in 4 low which is why I thought there may be a workaround.

I probably just need to learn how to drive with it is all. Any suggestions?

Thank you Janster
Janster likes this.

post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-10-2016, 01:06 PM

Garage
Doubt there is a workaround since it is all mechanical.

Here is the youtube vid on how it works