How to: Remove/Replace Front strut 16' colorado (Bilstein 5100 RHA) - Chevy Colorado & GMC Canyon
 16Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 24 (permalink) Old 04-09-2017, 12:30 PM Thread Starter

Post How to: Remove/Replace Front strut 16' colorado (Bilstein 5100 RHA)

How to: Remove/Replace Front strut 16' colorado (Bilstein 5100 RHA)

This write up is a "how to" for removing and replacing the front struts, and how to change the shocks within said strut. The rears are not going to be pictured here but will be discussed.

"I AM A MECHANIC, HOWEVER, THIS JOB WAS COMPLETED ON THE STREET, IN FRONT OF MY HOUSE WITH ONLY AN AIR LINE AND BASIC TOOLS (ASIDE FROM A VICE). I DO NOT - DO NOT CONDONE DOING ANY REPAIRS OF THIS NATURE! PLEASE TAKE IT TO AN ASE MECHANIC. ATTEMPT THIS AT YOUR OWN RISK! THIS IS NOT A SERVICE MANUAL NOR IS IT AN ATTEMPT AT TRAINING."

Now that the legalese is out of the way- here we go.

PB BLAST LOWER SPRING PURCH (ALOT), LET SIT OVER NIGHT IF POSSIBLE!

Tools required:
6mm open or nonmaring pliers (hold strut rod whilst loosening spring retention nut)
6mm allen head (hex) (either socket or key, upper ball removal)
10mm socket with 4" extension (sway mount clamps)
13mm standard socket (lower sway bolt)
15mm open end wrench (loosen spring retention nut)
15mm deep socket (upper sway bolt)
18mm combo wrench (upper strut nuts, as well as upper ball removal)
18mm mid deep socket on swivel head (rear nut upper strut) do rear first!
21mm standard socket (lower strut bolt)-- do ball joint first! (Also used for all rear shocks)
22mm socket (lug nuts)
two HD spring compressors (spring removal)
Vise (to aid in holding strut)
Jack (3 ton)
bottle jack or other secondary jack
Jack safety stands (aka: jack stands)
table
towel
pb blaster

tbc

I USED THE UPPER BALL MOUNT DISMOUNT METHOD AS SOME OF US ARE REPLACING SAID SUPPORT AND ITS JUST A FEW MORE STEPS TO DO SO.
soul strife, lqdchkn and mexica like this.