• 1 Post By Sigforty
  • 1 Post By lqdchkn
  • 1 Post By Thunderbear
  • 2 Post By drewabbs
  • 1 Post By hyperv6
  • 1 Post By hyperv6

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 05-18-2017, 02:15 PM Thread Starter

Post How to: Remove/Replace Front brake pads (EBC/all)

How to: Remove/Replace Front brake pads 16' colorado (EBC Yellow stuff PN: DP43044R)

This write up is a "how to" for removing and replacing the front brake pads.

"I AM A MECHANIC, HOWEVER, THIS JOB WAS COMPLETED ON THE STREET, IN FRONT OF MY HOUSE WITH ONLY AN AIR LINE AND BASIC TOOLS (ASIDE FROM A VICE). I DO NOT - DO NOT CONDONE DOING ANY REPAIRS OF THIS NATURE! PLEASE TAKE IT TO AN ASE MECHANIC. ATTEMPT THIS AT YOUR OWN RISK! THIS IS NOT A SERVICE MANUAL NOR IS IT AN ATTEMPT AT TRAINING."

Now that the legalese is out of the way- here we go.

Tools required:
22mm deep well socket w/long ratchet (rims)
Small pick
6-8" pry bar
Jacks
3m red scratch pad
Brake cleaner
Rags

That's all.

Rig: 16' Colly LT 4x4 2.8D, CCSB, G80, Bose, etc

Built list: Bak revolver x2, premium Line-X, rigid b/up lights cut & mounted in bumper, kn insert air fltr, zroadz fog plate w/rigid spots & floods, d-max tuner, matte blk badges and custom diesel badges, bilstien 5100 RHA 2" lift with rear 1" gm lift blks, 275/65-18 TA ko2, 2" wheel spacers (big rub @ full steer, w/o spacers), pedal cmdr

To/do: AFE intake, puddle leds, Anzo tails, Zone 1.5" body lft

Sponsors: Virginia Line-X (Ant).

Last edited by SigArms; 05-18-2017 at 03:02 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 05-18-2017, 02:51 PM Thread Starter

Remove wheel, install pads:

This was a very easy and tool light job. No fears or concerns, and an install time of maybe 15 mins each. Note how they look and are Assembled currently!

First, remove wheel. Acquire all tools noted above and inspect rotors. All good? Next locate the brake pad pin retention clips:

IMG_0315.jpg