Chevy Colorado & GMC Canyon banner

Transfer case leaves in "Auto" mode

21K views 42 replies 26 participants last post by  TopGun 
#1 ·
Hi,

Living in the north I left my transfer case in auto mode for the last couple months (since I bought it). I am curious if it'll hurt anything because the manual said the front axle is engage, just no power to it unless it's needed. The thing is up here the main streets and the highway are fairly clean and dry. Mostly just the side streets and roads less traveled are icier. I'm new to 4WD system (Subarus for last few cars) and don't want to damage any components.

#3 ·
I have had mine in Auto for 2 months now, i will just leave it there till spring thaw. Can't hurt anything.
My fuel economy had dropped, but this is due to many factors from winter blend fuel, winter tires, elevated idle running, and been freezing here for over a month. But i am still getting 26 mpg ( 9L/ 100kms per tank down from 30mpg ( 7.8L/100kms)in the summer. Fantastic for winter. My buddies V6 Coloroado has dropped to 17 mpg (13.8L/100kms) from his usual summer MPG of 22.

#5 ·
Your comment is correct. BUT....

It's winter. Roads have been wet,icy,snowy for awhile now. This is the nice feature of the AutoTrac option, you set it and forget it when there is any chance of traction loss. If we all waited to activate 4x4 when slippery then there would be no use for Autotrac. I like to be able to drive in the winter and not have to select 4x4 every time encounter a snowy/icy patch and not have to switch back to 2wd on sharp turns so axles don't bind.

#6 ·
^^^Yep. And in Auto, the truck will be in 2WD unless the rear wheels start to spin, then power is sent to the fronts.

Reactions: pennhunter
#7 ·