Need some engine block heater info please - Chevy Colorado & GMC Canyon

ColoradoFans.com is the premier Colorado Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-09-2012, 09:51 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Need some engine block heater info please

2011 Colorado 3.7.

The older gen motors use a Kats screw-in engine block heater. I installed one in my 2.8 Canyon. The 3.7 is different. According to my service manual, this engine uses a heater that snaps into a bore just below the thermostat housing. Kats website still lists the old style as fitting the new engines. I checked it out and indeed it does use something different than the old style. My problem is that I can not find the correct Kats number or GM number for the 3.7. Can anyone help?

Thanks, James
James1549 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-10-2012, 05:58 AM   #2 (permalink)

I have no need for, or any experience with block heaters. With that said, here is some search info that might help.

N1 ENGINE BLOCK HEATER (K05); ST ENGINE BLOCK HEATER (K05);. Fits: H3, H3 SUV, H3T | Nalley Buick GMC Brunswick

Kat's 11455 400 Watt 28mm Frost Plug Heater : Amazon.com : Automotive Kat's 11455 400 Watt 28mm Frost Plug Heater : Amazon.com : Automotive
cart7881 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-10-2012, 08:26 AM   #3 (permalink)

I have the factory engine block heater I ordered with my truck new in 2007. The thing I don't like about it (and most on vehicles are this way now) is it has to get to zero degrees before it works even if you have it plugged in. I had one on my Dakota R/T that was factory installed and any time you plugged it in it heated the block. When its 19 degrees like right now I'd sure liked to have it where it worked so my heater would already be warm when I turned it on.
johnny1 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message